Communities of Practice

Communities of Practice are defined as a group of people who share a concern or passion for something they do and want to learn how to do it better as they interact regularly.

We are keen to support members to come together to share, discuss and support each other in relation to practice areas of mutual interest. We see Communities of Practice (CoP) as an ideal mechanism to facilitate member engagement around shared challenges, problems, innovations and ideas.

CoPs are completely autonomous and flexible in terms of topics worked on, time commitment and the process of engagement.

Currently, the following CoPs are in operation. All members are welcome to join any CoP, please contact the relevant person directly.

Psychometric Assessment

Points of contact:

Deirdre Parker – d.parker@ucc.ie

Michael McDonnell – michael.mcdonnell@ucd.ie

Latest updates:

5+ core members that plan to meet every 6 weeks for the upcoming academic year.

More updates to follow.

All Things Data

Points of contact:

Marita Porter – marita.porter@ucd.ie

Eimear Gallagher – e.gallagher@qub.ac.uk

Latest updates:

Marita and Eimear will share an output from the group during a Lunch n Learn session on Wednesday 14th December at 1pm, where they will launch their Careers Registration Toolkit.

Click here to join the meeting

LinkedIn Learning

Points of contact:

Deborah Seddon Deborah.Seddon@atu.ie

Adette Ring adette.ring@atu.ie

About LinkedIn Learning CoP:

Its purpose is to support one another to develop proficiency and confidence with ‘Admin Functionality, curate/share careers resources, learning Paths and collections.

Latest updates:

Meeting Frequency = 1–2 per semester

Last meeting:  12th May 2022

At this meeting we hosted Alan Holohan, Account Director (LiL), who provided a business summary & Sabiha Teladia, Customer Success Manager (LiL) who provided her expertise in building collections, developing learning paths, understanding the Administrator role, and reporting. I also provided a summary of The ‘Are you LinkedIn? ATU Sligo campus event

Next meeting scheduled: 15th December at 11.30:  Linked In Learning – Interview Skills.  Join HERE

The focus of this meeting will be Linkedin & Linkedin Learning – Interview Preparation Resources.  I’ll share resources used in ATU Sligo, but welcome contribution from other members who are willing to share the same.

 

Healthcare

Points of contact:

Niamh Mullen – niamhmullen@rcsi.ie

Latest updates:

Next meeting scheduled for 14th Dec (in general the aim is to meet once per quarter)

The topic for this meeting will be Managing expectations.

Other themes identified for next meetings include:

  • Working abroad
  • Diversity and inclusion in Healthcare employment
  • Engagement strategies
  • Sessions delivered to allied healthcare
  • Sharing practice/collaboration potential

Work Placement

Points of contact:

Marie Laffey – marie.laffey@universityofgalway.ie

Oonagh Sweeney – oonagh.sweeney@ucd.ie

Latest updates:

There was a session on 11th August which focused on Placement models and Assessments. We had about 25 attendees for the session and slides were shared with all members of the CoP.

The next session which will focus on Supporting International Students. More details to follow.

Employer Engagement

Point of contact:

Maire Buckley – maire.buckley@mu.ie

Latest updates:

More to follow.

Log in

Enter your email and password